Esports 2
National Championships

21 National Champions Were Crowned in First-Ever USA Cycling Esports National Championships

By: Katherine Santos  February 20, 2022

Several national titles were awarded on Sunday at the 2022 USA Cycling Esports National Championship with three newly crowned champions preparing for the World Championships in one week.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.- Sunday saw multiple national champions crowned in the first-ever USA Cycling Esports National Championships. An exciting addition to the 2022 National Championship calendar, Esports Nationals brought national-level racing to the virtual world. Three of these newly crowned national champions will be taking on the world stage at the UCI Esports World Championships this Saturday.

This year’s national championship was hosted on the RGT Cycling platform and was hosted in collaboration with Echelon Racing Promotions.

Racing kicked off early Sunday morning on the Ironhorse Real Road course. In the Elite Men’s race, Mason Rocca (Evanston, Illi.; 606 Racing) claimed victory. On the Elite Women’s side, Jacqueline Godbe (Riverside, Calif.; xXx Racing – Athletico) took home gold six days before she leads the team at the World Championships for the second time.

In our younger age groups, Sebastian Bech (Houston, Texas; GHCF) took the win in the Men’s 11-16 category, and on the women’s side, Natalie Rehklau (Billings, Mont.) had a strong showing and took first. In the Men’s 17-18 category Paul Gabrielson (Danville, Pa.; Ski Valley) claimed the top step.

Scott Catanzaro (Washington D.C.; Next eSports p/b Enshored) had a strong performance to take gold in the Men’s 35-39 race. In the Women’s 35-39 race, Stefanie Sydlik (Pittsburgh, Pa.;3T Q+M Cycling) came in first. Sydlik will be joining Godbe and eight other women on the Worlds roster.

Jadon Jaeger (Wauwatosa, Wisc.; Restart Racing) outrode his competitors to take the win in the Men’s 40-44 race right before he takes the starting line for the World Championships as well. Allison Chauvin (Spokane, Wisc.; Kryki) took home gold as well on the women’s side. In the Men’s 45-49 race, Brian Kellison (San Mateo, Calif.; Penn Velo Racing/Summit Bicycles) claimed the top step with Raja McMahon (San Diego, Calif.; ICANIWILLIDO Racing p/b Vital Performance) winning in the women’s category. Richard Keller(Murfreesboro, Tenn.; Next eSports pb Enshored) won the Men’s 50-54 category, Theia Friestedt (Glenview, Illi.; CINCH Cycling) won the Women’s 50-54 race and Scott Shaw (Highlands Ranch, Colo.; CINCH Rise) won the Men’s 55-59 race.

In the Women’s 55-59 category, Andi Smith (Bend, Ore.; Sunnyside Sports) had a fantastic race and took gold. Randy Warren(Asheville, N.C.; Downtown Asheville Racing Club) won the Men’s 60-64 and Elaine Montoya (Albuquerque, N.M.; OWLs) won the Women’s.

Margaret Thompson (Clinton, N.Y.; Team Hammer Nutrition) won the Women’s 65-69 category, Scott Bulfinch (Lincoln, N.E.; Team KAOS) won the Men’s 70-74 race, and David Friedt (Mercer Island, Wash.; Taco Time NW Cycling Team) won the Men’s 75-79 race.

Rounding out the winners for the day, Wendy Skean (Nathrop, Colo.; Hammer Nutrition) claimed gold in the Women’s 75-79 race.

Congratulations to all of this year’s participants. A full list of results can be found here.

Photo By: TLBVelo Photography