2019 Sport Committee Elections Hero

Elections Brings 8 New Members to Sport Committees

By: Tom Mahoney  September 11, 2019

Adam Myerson, Joan Hanscom, and Bob Francis win contested positions.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- The 2019 USA Cycling Sport Committee elections concluded on Saturday, September 7, 2019 with nine incumbents re-elected and eight new members joining the seven Sport Committees. Among the 18 elections, the At-Large positions of Road, Cyclocross, and Track Committees were all contested by multiple candidates.

In the Road At-Large election, Joan Hanscom would come out on top of the field of 12, garnering 30% of all votes cast. Tim Molyneaux would place second in the election with 18% of the vote. In third was Kristen Fleschner with 14% of the vote.

Adam Myerson would defend his At-Large position on the Cyclocross Sport Committee, acquiring 58% of the votes cast in the election. Melissa Paquette and Stacey Richardson would come in second and third, respectively, with 17% and 12%.

The Track At-Large position candidates were Robert “Bob” Francis, Jeffrey Holt, and James Mellen. Francis would come out the victor with 51%. Holt would take 29%, and Mellen would claim 20% of the vote.

The new members will be invited shortly to attend USA Cycling’s annual Sport Committee meeting, October 8 & 9.

Collegiate Committee

At-Large – Sam Mancini (Replaces Jame Carney, who did not run for re-election)

Cyclo-cross Committee

At-Large – Adam Myerson (Incumbent)

Commissaire – Tom Nee (Incumbent)

Mountain Bike Committee

Endurance Race Director – Jet Lowe (Fills vacant position)

Gravity Race Director – Neko Mullaly (Incumbent)

Pro Calendar Race Director – Jeff Frost (Replaces Don Edburg, who did not run for re-election)

Team Director – Jon Rourke (Incumbent)

Pro Road Committee

At-Large – James Stanfill (Incumbent)

Commissaire – Dorothy Abbott (Incumbent)

PRT Race Director – Bruce Dunn (Incumbent)

Women’s Team Director – Rachel Hedderman (Incumbent)

Road Committee

At-Large – Joan Hanscom (replaces James Kramer)

Coach – Sean Wilson (Incumbent)

Commissaire – Ramon Gonzalez (replaces Bonnie Walker, who did not run for re-election)

Female Athlete – Kathryn Aman (Fills vacant position)

Track Committee

At-Large – Bob Francis (replaces Sue Meinerz, who did not run for re-election)

Commissaire – Carl Wilkins (Replaces Andy McCord)