2022 Elite Track Nats Day 1 1130x600
National Championships

Elite Time Trials and Individual Pursuits Highlight Day 1 of Track Nationals

By: Tom Mahoney  July 27, 2022

Marquardt, Alvord, Matsick, and Anderson earn the first elite titles at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center.

The first day of the 2022 USA Cycling Junior & Elite Track National Championships kicked off at the Valley Preferred Cycling Center in Breinigsville, Pa. Riders battled for eight national titles awarded across sprint and endurance events. Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Pa.; Team Novo Nordisk) earned her fifth consecutive title in the 500-meter time trial, stopping the clock at 35.304.

Marquardt reflected on the importance of the event to her track cycling career, saying, “The [time trial] holds a special place in my heart. It was the first championship after I was diagnosed with type 1 [diabetes], and I had difficulty adjusting to managing my shots and diet. At the event, I earned the bronze, which has always been a milestone for me.”

Elite Time Trial

Joining Marquardt on the Elite Women’s podium is Jennifer Wagner (Houston; Atomic Momentum), earning second with her time of 37.861. Emily Schelberg (Linthicum, Md.; IAMICANIWILLIDO p/b Vital Performance) earned the bronze.

Jamie Alvord III (Allentown, Pa.; Edge Cycling) also duplicated his efforts from the previous year in the Elite Men’s 1000-meter time trial, taking home the stars-and-stripes. Alvord stopped the clock at 1:04.847. Bay area rider David Domonoske (Palo Alto, Calif.; Alto Velo) stopped the clock at 1:06.384, edging out Dyllan Gunsolus (Charleston, S.C.; Project Echelon) for the silver.

Elite Individual Pursuit

Bethany Matsick (Warrington, Pa.; Bikeworks p/b Fred Beans) set a new track record in her qualifying ride for the Elite Women’s Individual Pursuit, breaking a decades-old record. Earning second, Skyler Espinoza (Menlo Park, Calif.; Alto Velo) stopped the clock at 3:58.147 in her final ride. The last step of the podium went to Elizabeth Stevenson (Rochester Hills, Mich.; Marian University).

In the Elite Men’s Individual Pursuit, Ian Anderson (San Antonio, Texas; Chaney Windows & Doors) sped his way to the gold with his finals time of 4:32.236. Aaron Beebe (Indianapolis; Texas Roadhouse Cycling Team) stopped the clock at 4:35.744, earning silver. Rounding out the podium was Anderson’s teammate, Spencer Seggebruch (Saint Louis, Mo.).

17-18 Omnium

The Junior 17-18 Men and Women competed in the four-event omnium. The best all-around endurance event consists of a scratch, tempo, elimination, and points race. Entering the final points race, Jonah Hover (Allentown, Pa.; Edge Cycling) was on top of the leader board with 114 points. Close on Hover’s heels, Luke Fetzer (Laguna Beach, Calif.; Lux/CTS p/b Specialized) with 112 points. It was a battle royal for the two riders during the points race, with Hover victorious. Fetzer earned the silver, and last year’s champion in the event, Dakota Stein (Orwigsburg, Pa.; Edge Cycling), earned an additional 12 points in the final event, earning him the bronze medal.

Chloe Patrick (Carson, Calif.; Serious Cycling) was dominant in the final event, earning points in all eight point-getting-opportunities. Homare Yamashita (Breinigsville, Pa.; Virginia’s Blue Ridge TWENTY24 Devo) would not make it easy for Patrick, battling her in every sprint. Claire Kudlata (Whitefish Bay, Wisc.; Adapt Cycling) fought her way to third.

15-18 Sprints

Local track star Divya Verma (Breinigsville, Pa.; Edge Cycling) dominated in the Junior Women 15-18 Sprints, clocking the fastest time in the 200-meter qualifying and winning every ride she started. Verma’s teammate, Annika Flannigan (Bethlehem, Pa.), took second, and Danielle Scoville (Lake Stevens, Wash.; Jerry Baker Juniors) earned bronze.

In the Junior Men 15-18 Sprints, fellow Edge Cycling member Finn Koller (Bethlehem, Pa.) was the only rider to go under eleven seconds in the qualifying, stopping the clock at 10.852. Jacob Evans (Macungie, Pa.; Gotham Cyclists) fought his win to the podium’s second step. Donnell Anderson Jr. (Detroit; American Cycling League – Detroit) made his national championship podium debut, earning bronze in the event.