National Championships

Smiles All Around as More Riders Earn Titles on Day 4 of #TrackNats

By: Katherine Santos  July 16, 2021

Unbeatable Times and Show-Stopping Performances on Day 4 of #TrackNats

Day four of the 2021 USA Cycling Junior, Elite, and Para-cycling Track National Championships saw riders from all over the country compete for a chance to win the stars and stripes jersey.

The morning was sprint central. On the Elite Men's side, James Alvord (Allentown, Pa.) had a standout performance on his home track. When asked about how it felt to be a national champion he said, "It's just a pleasure to do it here in my hometown."

In the Elite Women's race, Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Pa.; Team Novo Nordisk) added yet another national title to her name.

The team events took place in the early afternoon. Team Full Send won the Women's 15-18 Team Pursuit Final. The team was made up of four riders, Ajay Baker (Noblesville, Ind.; Nine13Sports p/b Singleton Coaching), Emma Balding (Indianapolis, Ind.; Nine13Sports p/b Singleton Coaching), Makala Jaramillo (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Rage Cycling), and Homare Yamashita (Breinigsville Pa.; Sho Air Team Twenty24 Devo)). Each rider looked smooth and consistent throughout their entire race. In addition to track racing, most of the Full Send crew compete in road, cyclocross, and mountain bike events throughout the year.

In the Men's 15-18 Team Pursuit Final the Kelly Composite team threw down a show-stopping performance. The team was made up of Anton Gibson (Brooklyn, N.Y.; Star Track Cycling), Jonah Killy (Silver Springs, Md.; Kelly Benefits Strategies Elite-Devo), Zac Olszewski (Macungie, Pa.; dcdevo Racing Academy), and Antonio Rossi (San Diego, Calif.; Icademy).

"We mainly focus on U-23 development. We have historically focused on the road race scene, but our history goes back many years. I took the program over four years ago to essentially rebuild and refocus on younger riders. At this point, we have 25 riders who range from 13-14 all the way up to 25 years old. Our elite program has 10 riders. We are blessed to now have 4 young ladies in our development program as well. My dream for these riders is to not only see them excel in cycling but to really see them become good people and good ambassadors of the sport. I don’t care if they become national champions I just want to see them become great people." said Nima Ebrahimnejad (Team Director of Kelly Benefits Strategies).

Ebrahimnejad has been leading a terrific program over the last few years and his riders can be spotted on several podiums across multiple disciplines of cycling.

The last of the Omnium events took place in the afternoon. After taking a track record earlier in the week, John Croom (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Contravans) wasn't finished. He managed to win the Elite Men's overall Omnium. Colleen Gulick (Spring City, Pa.; Podium Sports Cycling) took the win in the Elite Women's Omnium.

The Elite Men and Women had strong performances in the Team Pursuits as well. Team Brihop (Ashley Berton (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Brihop Racing), Stephanie Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Bethany Matsick (Warrington, Pa.; Liberty University), and Elizabeth Stevenson (Rochester Hills, Mich.; American Cycling League - Detroit)) had a successful ride and took the win in the Elite Women's Team Pursuit. Team Argon 18 (John Croom (Colorado Springs, Colo.; Contravans), Grant Koontz (Nederland, Colo.; Star Track Racing), Tristan Manderfeld (Colorado Springs, Colo.; US Military Endurance Sports / Voler Factory Racing), and Spencer Seggebruch (St. Louis, Mo.; Pastaria - Big Shark Racing)) won the Elite Men's Team Pursuit.

For the junior women, Team Bab (Mia Deye (Geigertown, Pad.; Star Track Cycling), Mckenna McKee (Vancouver, Wash.; Team Novo Nordisk), Danielle Shumskas (Pipersville, Pa.; Doylestown Bike Works) took the win in the Women's 15-18 Team Sprint Final. Edge Cycling (Finn Koller (Bethlehem, Pa.; Edge Cycling), Nicholas Roberts (Whitehall Pa.; Edge Cycling), and Dakota Stein (Orwigsburg, Pa.; Edge Cycling) won in the Men's 15-18 Team Sprint Final.

Today was the first day the younger juniors took to the track. In the Women's 11-12 Points Race Final, Emy Solis (San Diego, Calif.; San Diego Velodrome) won over Akira Edmonds (Brooklyn, N.Y.; Star Track Racing). In the Men's 11-12 Points Race Final, Arjuna Burgos (Los Angeles, Calif.; Boost Cyclesport Junior Team) took the top step.

Racing continued with the Women's 13-14 Points Race Final where Emma Jimenez Palos (Novi, Mich.; American Cycling League-Detroit) took gold.

Enzo Edmonds (Brooklyn, N.Y.; Star Track Racing) won the Men's 13-14 Points Race Final after an excellent performance.

The Elite Men's Team Sprint Final was won by Edge Cycling.

James Alvord (Allentown, Pa.)

Andrew Chu (Flushing,N.Y.; Edge Cycling)

Tommy Quinn (Royersford, Pa.; Edge Cycling)

Geneway Tang (Macungie, Pa.; Edge Cycling)


Team Novo Nordisk/Edge Cycling won the Elite Women's Team Sprint Final.

Mandy Marquardt (Allentown, Pa.; Team Novo Nordisk)

Allyson Wasielewski (Orefield, Pa.; Edge Cycling)

Mckenna Mckee (Portland, Ore.; Team Novo Nordisk)

Racing continues tomorrow morning with the Men's and Women's 15-18 Points Race Final.

You can follow the action on USA Cycling’s @usacyclinglive Twitter account as well as the @usacycling Instagram account.

You can find full results by clicking here.

Vishrut fa tracknats day4 16