Spoke 0004
National Championships

Team events are capstone of Masters Track National Championships

By: Tom Mahoney  July 16, 2018

TREXLERTOWN, PENN. JULY 15, 2018 — The team event day for the 2018 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships got off to a delayed start. Strong storms in the Lehigh Valley forced racing to be delayed until mid-afternoon. Come 2:00 p.m., the skies cleared and racing was on.

Team Pursuit

The delayed session started off with the men’s 35+ team pursuit. The Seminary Dropouts team of Karl Baumgart (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Jonathan Cavner (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Jason Gallacher (Brooklyn, N.Y.), and Benjamin Sharp (Boulder, Colo.) took the gold in a time of 4:46.093.

Project 430, consisting of Daniel Casper (Lauderdale, Minn.), David Klipper (Portland, Ore.), Kevin Nicol (Lafayette, Colo.), and Dean Peterson (Indianapolis), won the men’s 45+ team pursuit with a time of 4:37.173.

Robert Black (York, S.C.), Chris Carlson (McKinney, Texas), Lawrence Nolan (Freemont, Calif.), and Mark Sommers (Washington), or the team of Five Will Get You Ten, took the men’s 55+ team pursuit with a winning time of 3:35.289.

In the men’s 65+ team pursuit, the team consisting of Thomas Lobdell (Sacramento, Calif.), Leo Longo (Lomita, Calif.), Larry Wolff (Sacramento, Calif.), and Steven Worley (Boulder, Colo.) took the stars-and-stripes home. Their time was 4:01.295.

In the time of 4:00.514, the team of Vikki Appel (Sierra Madre, Calif.), Camie Kornely (Fort Lee, N.J.), Sarah Munoz (Redondo Beach, Calif.), and Elise Traylor (San Pedro, Calif.) won gold in the women’s 35+ event.

Calinois, consisting of Francine Haas (Chicago), Patricia Murray (San Diego), Karlene Rahn (Mira Loma, Calif.), and Charlene Yarnell (San Clemente, Calif.) won the women’s 45+ team pursuit. Their time was 4:02.273.

And in women’s 55+ event, Marni Harker (Washington), Joanne Trimpi (Pennsburg, Penn.), and Jane Vanni-Noone (Indianapolis) posted a time of 4:23.161, which was good enough to earn them the top step of the podium.

Team Sprint

Rice-o-Roni, comprising of Ethan Boyes (San Francisco), Kenneth Lo (San Francisco), and Joshua McDonald (Concord, Calif.) posted a time of 1:07.695, besting five other teams, and giving them the gold medal in the men’s 35+ team sprint event.

The 2 ½ Men team of Brian Abers (Aloha, Ore.), Jim Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo.), and Eric Swaidner (Colorado Springs, Colo.) were able to take the top step of the podium in the men’s 45+ team sprint. Their time was 1:08.549.

Marvin Hall (Sun City, Calif.), William Nighan (Portola Valley, Calif.), and Tim Rupp (San Diego) made up the team West Coast Boyz. As a team they clocked a time of 1:09.965, besting eight other teams and winning them the gold in the men’s 55+ division.

Local riders Chip Berezny (Coopersburg, Penn.), Daniel Kiningham (Little Silver, N.J.), and Tom Marnell (Allentown, Penn.) made up the team T-Town Edge. They won the 65+ men’s team sprint with a time of 1:16.385.

The Colorado Quad Squad, consisting of Sarah Fader (Boulder, Colo.) and Dawn Orwick (Westminster, Colo.) threw down a time of 48.168 in the women’s 35+ team sprint, which won them the division.

Christine D’Ercole (New York) and Camie Kornely (Fort Lee, N.J.) teamed up to make the women’s 45+ team sprint team N’Yawkers. The team set a time of 51.310 and won the stars-and stripes.

Marni Harker (Washington) and Joanne Trimpi (Pennsburg, Penn.) formed team Bob’s Your Uncle, and won the women’s 55+ team sprint event.


In the first of two masters Madison championships, the First Internet Bank team of Paul Martin (North Royalton, Ohio) and Matthew Weeks (Rocky River, Ohio) truly dominated the six-team competition. Placing in all but one of the intermediate sprints, and winning five of those eleven, the team ended up with 43 points, garnering them gold in the master 35+ event.

For the masters 45+ Madison event, Ben Sharp (Boulder, Colo.) and Chris Carlson (McKinney, Texas) teamed up as Stages Cycling, put on a master class on how to race a Madison event. Placing in every single sprint, and winning six out of the ten sprints, the team took home well-deserved stars-and-stripes.

Quick Links


Best All-Around Rider Team


Day 9 Gallery

Day 8 Gallery

Day 7 Gallery

Day 6 Gallery

Day 5 Gallery

Day 4 Gallery

Day 3 Gallery

Day 2 Gallery

Day 1 Gallery

Day 8 Recap

Day 7 Recap

Day 6 Recap

Day 5 Recap

Day 3 Recap

Day 2 Recap

Day 1 Recap

Event Webpage