Collegiate All Stars 1130X600
Team USA

U.S. National Team prepares to race at the 2019 Colorado Classic presented by VF Corporation

By: Guillermo Rojas  August 21, 2019

The Collegiate All-star team will be led by defending Champion, Katie Hall

Colorado Springs, Colo. - Six riders are set to compete on the U.S. National Team at the 2019 Colorado Classic. The team is comprised of talented up and coming collegiate riders and veteran stars, including the 2018 USA Cycling Collegiate Cyclocross National Champion and Road bronze medalist, Samantha Runnels (Austin, Texas; Lindenwood University), bronze medalist at the 2019 USA Cycling U23 Criterium National Championships, Madeline Bemis (Corona; Calif.; Milligan College) and 2014 Collegiate All-Star member and 2018 Colorado Classic Champion, Katie Hall (Saratoga, Calif.; Boels Dolman Cycling Team).

“This is a great development opportunity for our riders, we hope to see many of these riders in our National Team Kits for years to come,” said Jeff Pierce, Director of Elite Athletics, Road and Track for USA Cycling and Team Director, “The Colorado Classic course will be challenging but after a successful training camp, we are confident that the team is ready to go up against the best in the world.”

U.S. National Team at the 2019 Colorado Classic:

Madeline Bemis (Corona, Calif.; Milligan College)

  • 2019 USA Cycling Professional Criterium National Championships (3rd - U23)
  • 2018 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Champion (Individual Overall Omnium)

Anna Christian (Minneapolis; University of Colorado Boulder)

  • 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships (2nd – Road)
  • 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Race National Championships (1st – Criterium)

Emma Edwards (Cambridge, Mass.; Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

  • 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships (3rd – Road)

Katie Hall (Saratoga, Calif.; UC Berkley, Collegiate Program/Collegiate All-Star Alumni)

  • 2014 Collegiate All-Star member
  • 2018 Colorado Classic Champion

Cara O’Neill (Tucson, Ariz.; University of Arizona)

  • 2019 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Champion

Samantha Runnels (Austin, Texas; Lindenwood University)

  • 2018 USA Cycling Collegiate Cyclocross National Champion
  • 2018 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships (3rd – Road)

Support Staff:

  • Jeff Pierce - Director Sportif
  • Vincent Gee – Team mechanic

The team will be directed by Jeff Pierce, USA Cycling Director of Elite Athletics, Road and Track. During his professional road racing career, Pierce became the third American to win a stage at the Tour de France with his victory in the final stage on the Champs-Élysées in 1987. Over his 22-years racing, he competed in seven Grand Tours and collected several wins in road races around the United States. Pierce was a member of the U.S. national team, and he was the No. 1-ranked rider in the country in 1985.

The 2019 Colorado Classic starts on August 22nd in Steamboat Springs and finishes August 25th in Denver. This is the first time USA Cycling will be fielding a National Team at the Colorado Classic.


Americans in the Colorado Classic

Along with the National Team riders, there are a total of 44 U.S. riders competing at this year’s Colorado Classic (as of 8/20/19):

Bib # Name (Team)

1. Katie Hall (U.S. National Team)

2. Madeline Bemis (U.S. National Team)

3. Anna Christian (U.S. National Team)

4. Emma Edwards (U.S. National Team)

5. Cara O’Neill (U.S. National Team)

6. Samantha Runnels (U.S. National Team)

12. Abby Mickey (Rally/UHC)

13. Krista Doebel-Hickok (Rally/UHC)

14. Emma White (Rally/UHC)

31. Amber Neben (Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling)

42. Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)

43. Emily Newsom (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)

71. Chloe Dygert (Sho-Air Twenty20)

72. Jennifer Valente (Sho-Air Twenty20)

73. Allie Legg (Sho-Air Twenty20)

75. Erica Clevenger (Sho-Air Twenty20)

76. Jennifer Luebke (Sho-Air Twenty20)

81. Leigh Ann Ganzar (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

82. Lily Williams (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

83. Jess Cerra (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

84. Liza Rachetto (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

85. Whitney Allison (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

86. Lindsay Goldman (Hagens Berman/Supermint)

91. Heather Fischer (DNA Pro Cycling)

92. Hannah Shell (DNA Pro Cycling)

93. Melanie Beale (DNA Pro Cycling)

94. Amy Charity (DNA Pro Cycling)

95. Brenna Wrye-Simpson (DNA Pro Cycling)

96. Kimberly Lucie (DNA Pro Cycling)

114. Holly Breck (Fearless Femme)

131. Claudia Behring (ALP Cycles Racing)

132. Rachel Plessing (ALP Cycles Racing)

133. Cory Popovich (ALP Cycles Racing)

134. Kristina Vrouwenvelder (ALP Cycles Racing)

135. Ayesha McGowan (ALP Cycles Racing)

136. Andrea Buttine (ALP Cycles Racing)

142. Justine Barrow (LUX/Flexential)

143. Janelle Cole (LUX/Flexential)

144. Gabrielle Lehnert (LUX/Flexential)

145. Jane Tullis (LUX/Flexential)

146. Charlotte Backus (LUX/Flexential)

152. Nicole Pressprich (Point S Auto p/b Nokian Tyres)

154. Pip Sutton (Point S Auto p/b Nokian Tyres)

155. Emma Langley (Point S Auto p/b Nokian Tyres)




· Thursday, August 22 – 11:30am – 2:10pm MT

· Friday, August 23rd – 1:00pm-3:40pm MT

· Saturday, August 24th – 11:30am-2:30pm MT

· Sunday, August 25th – 1:30pm-4:05pm MT


Visit for more information on the athletes, events and membership programs, and follow @USACycling across all channels for the latest on Team USA. For more information on the 2019 Colorado Classic, visit: